The Weight of All Things Light

It’s in days like this that I want to get rid of my shadow. And please, don’t think that I’m talking about some unconscious dark side of my soul or some deep unresolved feelings. Absolutely not. I go to a very nice (and relatively cheep) doctor for this. She asks questions about my childhood and my womanhood, about my first friends and my last friends, and I especially enjoy explaining why lately I don’t have any friends. I like how her face breaks out of the mirror-trained stillness during the moments when she thinks I’m not looking.

No, I don’t want to get rid of this “shadow” of mine. It’s the real one that I don’t want to see.  The one that after a 10 000 step walk enters the garage before me and just stands there, in full size, threatening to crush my kid’s bike.

distant thunder…
a maple leaf gets caught
by the photo eye

—-
©Tzetzka Ilieva, 2016

Leave a Reply

